Summer creepin in

a thing of greatness

Well, kids it looks like it’s about that time of year again. Yes, the flowers have sprouted and the sun is out a bit longer but that’s not what I’m talkin’ about. No, no Willis.

The time of year is ripe for Summer Camp and thankfully for myself and over 10,000 other campers it’s right around the corner. Wooot.  May 26 will start the Chillicothe, IL  festival off and it will roll on until the 29th. Now, I’m fully aware that there are hundreds of other music festivals all around the country much larger than Summer Camp. Some of them may be ‘better’ but Summer Camp holds a special spot in my heart and this camper is ready to roll.

There are so many things to be excited for in terms of Summer Camp 2011 but when I was asked the question the other day of who I am most excited to see, the answer was…BoomBox. Last year before Summer Camp I was a sad soul who had never heard of BoomBox or heard their soft, mellow notes against  Godchaux’s distinct lyrics and voice. Such a sad soul was I. Thankfully, I had a  chance to hear their live set during the day at S’camp last year and a dj set at night and I was sold for good.

Much to my delight they made a nice stop in Chicago last year for a set at the Wicker Park Fest and killed it. Now, a year later with an album released last June they’re back at S’camp and I couldn’t be more excited. If you made the right decision and bought a S’camp ticket then I better see your face and dancing body kickin’ off S’camp in the best way possible Thursday night in the Vibe Tent with BoomBox. I also better see your sweaty face on Friday at 2.45 p.m. at the MoonShine stage for their live set.

That said, I’ll leave you with this little gem. Enjoy.

~ by frantunes on May 16, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
