It’s almost here North Coasties!

North Coast 2010. Photo via NorthbyNorthwestern.com

Well that went fast.
Summer is almost over, kids but you know what that means!!! North Coast Music Festival is right around the corner. Actually 10 days away to be exact, but who’s really counting? (Me!!)

About a week ago the site released the schedule and I have to say I am super satisfied. Obviously I can’t speak for everybody, but I can definitely speak for myself when I say that there aren’t any major conflicts with the performances. 

Like last year, the festival kicks off Friday September 2nd with Orchard Lounge playing at 3:30 pm at the Red Bull stage. After that the weekend just steadily escalates into eargasmic fabulousness. The Hood Internet is after Orchard Lounge on the same stage followed later by electronic jam band Lotus at 7 pm. This will definitely be an hour and a half of vibed-out greatness so I suggest you make your way over there if only for a bit. Friday closes out with David Guetta  at 8:30 pm and Midnight Conspiracy at 9 pm so if you’re a fan of both you can definitely catch a good half hour of both sets, at least.

Saturday is a must for you North Coasties. It starts off earlier than Friday and is jam-packed with greatness all day. I’m extremely happy to see that The Right Now is back this year as one of the three “Toast of the Coast” winners. I saw them last year at the Chicago Bluegrass and Blues Festival and again at North Coast Music Festival and they rocked their set both times. Stefanie Berecz, the lead singer, has an amazingly soulful voice backed by a band full of saxophones, trombones and trumpets. For me, this all spells bliss so I can’t wait to see them again. They kick off Saturday at 12:30 pm. The Right Now is followed by Rubblebucket at 1:30. Rubblebucket is an inde-dance band from Brooklyn and are a perfect follow-up to the Right Now with their trumpet, saxophone, trombones and a ton more brass. They have a refreshingly unique style and rock it onstage, so make it early Saturday for their set.

The New Mastersounds hit it at 2:30 followed by RJD2 with Break Science at 3:30. I haven’t seen RJD2 play with Break Science yet, but I did hear that it’s not really a collaborative effort. Last time they played together apparently RJD2 busted out a couple of tracks and Break Science played his tracks with him, but mid-set RJD2 was done and it was just Break Science. I wasn’t there to observe this myself, so I’m definitely willing to give this set a chance. Especially since RJD2 killed it the last two times I saw him here in Chicago. Big Gigantic hits the stage at 4:30 pm and this is one of the sets I am really looking forward to. Big G killed it at Summer Camp and I can’t wait to see that energy at North Coast. Rusko and Common follow Big G with Sound Tribe and Fatboy Slim ending the night. Whew. I’m a bit tired even just writing about Saturday, but I cannot wait.

Sunday closes the fest out with Bassnectar, Benny Benassi and Thievary Corporation and Bassnectar are playing at the same time on two different stages, so whichever you decide to see is solely up to you. Hitting both for a portion of time is always a good idea. 😉

I hope you are all as stoked as I am for Summer’s Last Stand. I’ll be back after North Coast with details of the best sets…after my brain has a good long rest, that is.

Cheers!!

 
For your listening and viewing pleasure:

~ by frantunes on August 24, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
